المعالجة الكثبية

هذه الصفحة متاحة أيضًا باللغات التالية: English (الإنجليزية) বাংলা (Bengali)

كل ما تحتاج لمعرفته حول المعالجة الكثبية

لقد ولت الأيام التي كان علاج السرطان فيها يعني العلاج الكيميائي أو العلاج الإشعاعي الخارجي فقط. بفضل تقدم العلوم الطبية ، شهدت طرق علاج السرطان بعض التغييرات الحديثة مع طرق علاج جديدة أكثر تركيزًا ظهرت على الساحة! المعالجة الكثبية هي إحدى طرق العلاج التي تركز على أورام السرطان عن طريق وضع غرسات مشعة صغيرة في أقرب مكان ممكن من موقع الورم.

أحد الأسباب الرئيسية وراء التوصية بالمعالجة الكثبية هو أن هذا العلاج يركز على جرعات عالية على مساحة صغيرة مع تركيز الإشعاع على الورم وليس على الأنسجة أو الخلايا المحيطة. هذا يمنع الضرر أو الإضرار بالمناطق المحيطة بالورم.
الآن يجب أن تتساءل عن كيفية عمل المعالجة الكثبية بهذه الدقة وسنصل إلى ذلك ، ولكن قبل أن نفعل ذلك ، دعنا نفصل أساسيات أسلوب العلاج هذا بدءًا من السؤال-

ما هي المعالجة الكثبية؟

في شكلها البسيط ، يمكن تعريف المعالجة الكثبية على أنها نوع من الإشعاع الداخلي يتم فيه وضع الغرسة ، والتي يمكن أن تكون أي شيء من الأسلاك أو البذور إلى الكبسولات ، مع مصدر إشعاع داخل الجسم مباشرة ، أقرب إلى الورم. يُعرف أيضًا باسم العلاج الإشعاعي الداخلي ، يمكن لهذا النوع من العلاج تقليص حجم الورم بشكل فعال إذا لم يتم إزالته تمامًا من نظامك ويمكن استخدامه لعلاج أنواع السرطان مثل-

  • رئتين
  • صدر
  • البروستات
  • الرأس والرقبة
  • عين
  • الرحم إلخ.

ما هي أنواع المعالجة الكثبية المختلفة؟

في المقام الأول ، هناك نوعان من المعالجة الكثبية:

المعالجة الكثبية بمعدل الجرعات المنخفضة (LDR)

  • المعالجة الكثبية ذات الجرعات المنخفضة ، والمعروفة أيضًا باسم المعالجة الكثبية الدائمة ، هي عملية علاج مستمرة حيث يتم إدخال غرسة مشعة بشكل دائم (إما يدويًا أو من خلال جهاز) في جسمك وتتسرب منه جرعة منخفضة من الإشعاع باستمرار لأسابيع ، وربما شهور ، حسب شدة الورم أو معدل نموه. ستطلق الغرسة المشعة جرعة معينة من الإشعاع وستركز على تقليص الورم أو إضعافه تدريجيًا
  • في هذا الإجراء ، قد يُطلب منك حجز نفسك في المستشفى بسبب وجود إشعاع داخل جسمك. على الرغم من أن ذلك ليس ضارًا ، فسيتم إبقائك في غرفة خاصة مع وصول زائر محدود (لا يوجد أطفال أو نساء حوامل).
  • لن يكون إدخال جهاز المعالجة الكثبية مؤلمًا حيث يتم استخدام التخدير في معظم الحالات لتقليل الانزعاج. في الواقع ، لا ينبغي أن يسبب وجود الغرسة المشعة في جسمك أي ألم أو إزعاج ، وإذا حدث ذلك ، فأبلغ فريقك الطبي على الفور.

المعالجة الكثبية بمعدل الجرعات العالية (HDR)

  • المعالجة الكثبية ذات الجرعات العالية ، والمعروفة أيضًا باسم المعالجة الكثبية المؤقتة ، هي أكثر من إجراءات العلاج بالجلسة حيث يتم وضع الغرسات المشعة مؤقتًا داخل الجسم ويستمر العلاج لبضع دقائق ، حتى نصف ساعة بحد ذاتها. بعد ذلك ، تتم إزالة أنبوب الإشعاع المؤقت ويمكنك العودة إلى نمط حياتك الطبيعي دون أي متاعب.
  • نظرًا لأن جلسة المعالجة الكثبية بتقنية HDR قصيرة ، يوصى بها للمرضى الخارجيين فقط مما يعني أنه لا يتعين عليك البقاء في المستشفى أو في عزلة قد يوصي فريقك الطبي بما يصل إلى جلستين من بضع دقائق كل يوم وبمجرد إزالة الأنبوب ، يمكنك الذهاب. لن تكون أيضًا مشعًا مما يعني أنه يمكنك مقابلة أشخاص بعد الجلسة.
  • أثناء إجراء HDR ، سيتم إدخال المادة المشعة باستخدام جهاز محوسب. سيتركك فريقك الطبي بمفردك في الغرفة لتجنب التعرض غير المرغوب فيه لكنهم سيراقبونك عن كثب من غرفة قريبة. يمكنك إخطارهم إذا شعرت بعدم الراحة أو الألم ، ولكن في معظم الحالات ، لا يشعر المرضى بذلك. بمجرد الانتهاء من الإجراء ، سيعود الفريق الطبي الخاص بك ، ويزيل جهاز الإشعاع ، وستكون لديك الحرية في التحرك.

من سيتكون فريقك الطبي؟

مثل أي فريق آخر لعلاج السرطان ، سيكون هناك بعض المتخصصين الأساسيين الذين يتألفون من أخصائيي علاج الأورام بالإشعاع والمعالجين بالإشعاع وفحص الجرعات لقياس جرعتك ، وطبيب فيزيائي عام على أهبة الاستعداد (للأمراض الصحية التي تحدث أثناء الإجراء). سيكون هناك أيضًا فريق دعم من أطباء التخدير والجراحين (لإدخال أو استخراج الغرسات) والممرضات للعناية العامة أثناء وبعد الإجراء.

كيف تستعد للمعالجة الكثبية؟

بمجرد التشخيص والبت ، سيقرر فريقك الطبي ما إذا كانت المعالجة الكثبية خيارًا مناسبًا لحالتك. بمجرد التحديد ، سيُطلب منك مشاركة تقرير مفصل عن تاريخك الطبي بما في ذلك الأدوية المستمرة والمكملات الصحية وما إلى ذلك. استشر فريق الرعاية الصحية الخاص بك لمعرفة اللوائح الغذائية وإذا كان أي منها ضروريًا أم لا! قد يصف طبيبك بعض الاختبارات السريرية لفهم حالتك بشكل أفضل والتي يمكن أن تكون في شكل –

  • رسم القلب
  • التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي / التصوير المقطعي المحوسب / الموجات فوق الصوتية
  • اختبارات دم معينة
  • تصوير الصدر بالأشعة السينية أو اختبارات التصوير الأخرى
  • تحضير الأمعاء

ماذا تتوقع أثناء إجراء المعالجة الكثبية؟

الآن دعنا نقدم لك تفصيلاً خطوة بخطوة لما قد تتوقعه أثناء هذا الإجراء!

الإجراء المسبق

سيكون لديك اجتماع قصير مع فريقك الطبي قبل إجراء المعالجة الكثبية حيث سيخضع طبيبك / ممرضتك لبعض الفحوصات الأولية التي قد تشمل اختبارات التصوير والفحوصات الجسدية ومناقشة الإجراء بما في ذلك الآثار الجانبية وما إلى ذلك. خلال هذه الفترة ، يُطلب من المرضى مشاركة تقرير متعمق عن تاريخهم الطبي والذي يجب أن يشمل أيضًا الأدوية المستمرة وتناول المكملات الصحية أو مميعات الدم مثل الأسبرين والمزيد. يمكنك حتى مناقشة رعاية ما بعد الجراحة إلى جانب اللوائح الغذائية أو التدابير الوقائية.

أثناء الإجراء

الآن ، أنت تدرك أن المعالجة الكثبية تتطلب إشعاعًا مركّزًا للقضاء على الخلايا السرطانية ، لكن هل أنت على دراية بمكان وضع الغرسات؟ على الرغم من أن الهدف هو وضع الغرسات في أقرب مكان ممكن من الورم ، إلا أن هناك الكثير من المتغيرات التي يجب أخذها في الاعتبار. على سبيل المثال ، هناك 3 مواقع أساسية يتم استخدامها بشكل متكرر ويمكن-

  1. العلاج داخل التجويف
    في هذه الطريقة ، يتم إدخال الغرسة داخل تجاويف داخل الجسم ، مثل الرحم أو الثدي
  2. العلاج الخلالي-
    في هذه الطريقة ، يتم إدخال الغرسة داخل كتلة الورم.
  3. العلاج الإشعاعي الداخلي- في هذه الطريقة ، يتم إدخال الإشعاع على شكل دواء ، ويفضل أن يكون من خلال الوريد أو في تجويف الجسم.

اعتمادًا على نوع الإجراء ، قد تضطر إلى البقاء في المستشفى لبضع ليالٍ أو البقاء في غرفة منعزلة أثناء إجراء العلاج الإشعاعي المؤقت! يمكنك الرجوع إلى قسم أنواع المعالجة الكثبية المختلفة لمعرفة المزيد حول هذا الموضوع.

إدارة العلاج الإشعاعي والمعالجة الكثبية

هناك دائمًا احتمال أن يجعلك مصدر الإشعاع في جسمك مشعًا لفترة وجيزة من الوقت ، ولهذا يُطلب من المرضى غالبًا البقاء في منازلهم ، ويفضل أن يكونوا معزولين لفترة من الوقت. هذا أكثر شيوعًا في المعالجة الكثبية بجرعات عالية حيث يتم زرع مصدر الإشعاع داخل الجسم.

هذا يعني أيضًا أنه يجب على الزائرين المصابين بأمراض مزمنة والأطفال والنساء الحوامل تجنب الاتصال بك. في الواقع ، يجب ألا يلتقي الزائر ويحييه بأي شيء أو على الأقل لتجنب التعرض غير الضروري.

أسئلة مكررة

لقد أجبنا على بعض الأسئلة الشائعة حول المعالجة الكثبية

1. ما هي بعض الآثار الجانبية للمعالجة الكثبية التي يجب أن أكون على علم بها؟

قد يأتي كل من LDR و HDR مع بعض الآثار الجانبية. يمكن أن تكون أكثر المشاكل الفورية التي تحدث بعد الإجراء مشاكل في المسالك البولية بما في ذلك وجود دم في البول أو الحاجة المتكررة للتبول. قد تشمل بعض الأعراض اللاحقة الإمساك.

2. ما هي مدة بقاء الغرسة في جسدي؟

– هذا يعتمد فقط على معدل علاج السرطان لديك. اعتمادًا على شدة الحالة أو رد فعل جسمك على هذا الإجراء ، قد تبقى الغرسات لأسابيع وحتى شهور! ومع ذلك ، بمجرد خروج الإشعاع من الزرعات ، لن تبقى نشطة بعد الآن.

3. كيف يعرف الأطباء ما إذا كان الإجراء يعمل أم لا؟

ستكون هناك فحوصات دورية ومراقبة روتينية للوصول إلى حالتك. إذا كنت مريضًا خارجيًا ، فقد تضطر إلى تحديد جلسات فحص دورية مع طبيبك ، بناءً على تقدير طبيبك.

4. هل سأشعر بالألم وعدم الراحة أثناء هذا الإجراء؟

على الرغم من أن الزرع نفسه يمكن أن يكون مؤلمًا بعض الشيء (وهذا هو سبب استخدام الأطباء للتخدير في هذا الجزء) ، بمجرد دخول الغرسة في الداخل ، يجب ألا تشعر بأي ألم أو إزعاج.

5. ما هو معدل نجاح المعالجة الكثبية؟

إذا تم استخدامها في الوقت المناسب وفي المساحة المركزة المناسبة ، يمكن للمعالجة الكثبية القضاء على ما يصل إلى 95٪ من الخلايا السرطانية. ومع ذلك ، غالبًا ما يختلف رد فعل العلاج من شخص لآخر وهذا هو السبب في أنه لا يمكن الإشارة إلى معدل النجاح الدقيق في جميع الحالات.

تحقق أيضًا من:
أفضل الأطباء والمستشفيات في الهند للعلاج الموضعي

شارك هذا حتى يستفيد الآخرون!

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on telegram
Telegram
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on vk
VK
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

اتصل بنا

الشهادات - التوصيات

Blog Posts...

Common Breast Cancer myths
أكتوبر 29, 2020

الأساطير الشائعة حول سرطان الثدي

الأساطير الشائعة حول سرطان الثدي في الوقت الحاضر ، هناك الكثير من المعلومات المتاحة حول سرطان الثدي. ومع ذلك...
Never ignore these signs of Breast Cancer
أكتوبر 29, 2020

لا تتجاهل أبدًا علامات سرطان الثدي هذه

لا تتجاهل أبدًا علامات سرطان الثدي هذه في حياتنا اليومية ، نلاحظ العديد من التغييرات في أجسامنا. من بينها...
best healthcare startup
مارس 26, 2020

– أفضل شركة ناشئة للرعاية الصحية Ginger Healthcare

تم تصنيف الرعاية الصحية بالزنجبيل من بين أفضل 10 شركات رعاية صحية في دلهي NCR من قبل السيليكون الهند...

Brachytherapy

This post is also available in: العربية বাংলা

Everything you need to know about Brachytherapy

Gone are the days when Cancer Treatment only meant chemo or external radiation therapy. Thanks to the medical science advancement, cancer treatment methods have undergone some recent changes with new, more focused treatment methods cropping up on the scene! Brachytherapy is one such treatment method that focuses on cancer tumors by placing small radioactive implants as close to the tumor location as possible.

One of the primary reasons why Brachytherapy is recommended, because this therapy focuses on high doses over a small space with the radiation concentrating on the tumor and not on the surrounding tissues or cells. This prevents damage or harm to the surrounding areas of the tumor.

Now you must be wondering how Brachytherapy works with such precision and we’ll get to that, but before we do, let’s breakdown the basics of this treatment style starting with the question-

What is Brachytherapy?

In its simple form, Brachytherapy can be defined as a type of internal radiation in which an implant, which can be anything from wires or seeds to capsules, with a radiation source in it is directly placed inside the body, closer to the tumor. Also known as Internal Radiation Therapy, this form of therapy can effectively shrink the tumor size if not downright eliminate it from your system and can be used to treat cancer types such as-

  • Lungs
  • Breast
  • Prostate
  • Head & neck
  • Eye
  • Uterus, etc.

What are the Different Brachytherapy types?

Primarily, there are two types of Brachytherapy: 

Low Dose Rate (LDR) Brachytherapy

  • Low Dose Brachytherapy also known as permanent brachytherapy, is a continuous treatment process where a radioactive implant is permanently inserted (either manually or through a machine) in your body and a low dose of radiation seeps out of it continuously for weeks, maybe months, depending on the intensity or growth rate of the tumor. The radioactive implant will release a particular dose of radiation and would focus on gradually shrinking or weakening the tumor
  • In this procedure, you may be asked to detain yourself in the hospital due to the presence of radiation within your body. Even though it’s not harmful, you’ll be kept in a private room with limited visitor access (no children or pregnant women).
  • The insertion of the brachytherapy device will not be painful since in most cases anesthesia is used to reduce discomfort. In fact, the presence of the radioactive implant in your body shouldn’t cause any pain or discomfort and if it does, notify your medical team immediately.

High Dose Rate (HDR) Brachytherapy

  • High Dose Brachytherapy also known as temporary brachytherapy, is more of a session-wise treatment procedure where radioactive implants are temporarily placed within the body and the therapy continues for a few minutes, up to half an hour itself. Post this, the temporary radiation tube is removed and you can return back to your normal lifestyle without any hassle.
  • Since HDR Brachytherapy session is brief, these are recommended for outpatients only which means you don’t have to stay back in the hospital or in isolation. Your medical team may recommend up to 2 sessions of a few minutes each in a day and once the tube is removed, you are free to go. You will also not be radioactive which means you can meet people after your session.
  • During the HDR procedure, the radioactive material will be inserted using a computerized machine. Your medical team will leave you alone in the room to avoid unwanted exposure but they will closely monitor you from a nearby room. You can notify them if you feel discomfort or pain, but in most cases, the patients don’t. Once the procedure is done, your medical team will come back in, remove the radiation device and you’ll be free to move about. 

Who will your medical team consist of?

Much like any other cancer cure team, there will be some core professionals consisting of radiation oncologists, radiation therapists, dosimetrist to measure your dose, a general physicist on standby (for health ailments occurring during the procedure). There will also be a support team of anesthesiologists, surgeons (to insert or extract implants) and nurses for general care during and after the procedure.

How do you prepare for your brachytherapy?

Once diagnosed and determined, your medical team will decide if Brachytherapy is a suitable option for your condition. Once determined, you will be asked to share a detailed report of your medical history including ongoing medications, health supplements, etc. Consult with your healthcare team for dietary regulations and if any is necessary or not! Your doctor may prescribe certain clinical tests to understand your condition better which can be in the form of –

  • EKG
  • MRI/ CT scan / Ultrasound
  • Certain blood tests
  • Chest X-Ray or other imaging tests
  • Bowel preparation

What to expect during the Brachytherapy procedure?

Now let us give you a step by step breakdown of what you might expect during this procedure!

Pre-procedure

You’ll have a brief meeting with your medical team before the Brachytherapy procedure during which your doctor/nurse will go over some preliminary exams which may include imaging tests, physical exams, discussing the procedure including side-effects and so on. During this period, patients are requested to share an in-depth report of their medical histories which should also include ongoing medication, intake of health supplements or blood thinners such as aspirin and more. You can even discuss post-procedure care along with dietary regulations or preventative measures.

During the procedure

So by now, you’re aware that Brachytherapy requires focused radiation to eliminate cancer cells, but are you aware of where the implants are placed? Even though the aim is to place the implants as close to the tumor as possible, there are a lot of variables that need to be taken into account. For instance, there are 3 primary locations that are frequently used and they can be:

  1. Intracavitary Treatment-
    In this method, the implant is inserted inside cavities within the body, such as uterus or breasts
  2. Interstitial Treatment-
    In this method, the implant is inserted right inside the tumor mass.
  3. Internal Radiation Therapy-
    In this method, the radiation is inserted in the form of a medicine, preferably through a vein or into a body cavity.

Depending on the procedure type you may have to stay back in the hospital for a few nights or be in an isolated room while your temporary radiation procedure takes place. You can refer to our Different Brachytherapy Types segment to know more about this.

Post-procedure radiation management & brachytherapy

There is always a chance that the radiation source in your body may make you radioactive for a brief span of time which is why patients are often requested to stay indoors, preferably isolated for a while. This is more common in high-dose brachytherapy where the radiation source is implanted inside the body.

This also means visitors with chronic illnesses, children and pregnant women should avoid coming in contact with you. In fact, visitor meet and greet should be kept zero or at the minimum to avoid unnecessary exposure.

FAQs

We’ve answered some of the Frequently Asked Questions about Brachytherapy

1. What are some of the Brachytherapy side effects I should be aware of?

Both LDR and HDR may come with certain side-effects. The most immediate ones that occur right after the procedure can be urinary problems including blood in the urine or frequent need to pass urine. Some later symptoms may include constipation.

2. How long will the implant stay in my body?

This solely depends on your cancer cure rate. Depending on the severity of the condition or your body’s reaction to this procedure, the implants may stay for weeks and even months. However, once the radiation oozes out of the implants, they won’t stay active anymore.

3. How would doctors know if the procedure is working or not?

There will be periodical checkup tests and routine monitoring to access your condition. If you’re an outpatient, you may have to schedule periodic checkup sessions with your doctor, based on your doctor’s discretion.

4. Will I feel pain and discomfort during this procedure?

Even though the implant plantation itself can be a little painful (which is why doctors use anesthesia for this part), once the implant is inside, you shouldn’t feel any pain or discomfort.

5. What is the success rate for Brachytherapy?

If used at the right time and at the right focused space, brachytherapy can eliminate up to 95% of the cancer cells. However, treatment reaction often varies from person to person which is why the exact success rate cannot be implied in all cases.

Contact us

Blog Posts...

Never ignore these signs of Breast Cancer
September 16, 2020

Never ignore these signs of Breast Cancer

In our daily life, we notice many changes in our body. Out of them, some changes that seem normal...
Common Breast Cancer myths
September 11, 2020

Common Breast Cancer myths

Nowadays, there is a lot of information available about breast cancer. However, not all of it is clear or...
best healthcare startup
March 14, 2020

Ginger Healthcare- Best Healthcare Startup

Ginger Healthcare ranked among top 10 Healthcare Startups in Delhi NCR by Silicon India Ginger Healthcare is pleased to...