ورم الظهارة المتوسطة

هذه الصفحة متاحة أيضًا باللغات التالية: English (الإنجليزية) বাংলা (Bengali)

ورم الظهارة المتوسطة

ورم الظهارة المتوسطة هو نوع من السرطان العدواني والقاتل. يحدث في الطبقة الرقيقة من الأنسجة التي تغطي غالبية أعضائك الداخلية ، والتي يطلق عليها أيضًا اسم الثيليوم المتوسط.

على الرغم من توفر خيارات العلاج لهذه الحالة ، إلا أن العلاج للعديد من المرضى الذين يعانون من ورم الظهارة المتوسطة غير ممكن. متوسط العمر المتوقع للمريض بعد التشخيص هو 12-21 شهرًا ، على الرغم من أن التشخيص قد يتحسن مع العلاج.

على الرغم من توفر خيارات العلاج لهذه الحالة ، إلا أن العلاج للعديد من المرضى الذين يعانون من ورم الظهارة المتوسطة غير ممكن. متوسط العمر المتوقع للمريض بعد التشخيص هو 12-21 شهرًا ، على الرغم من أن التشخيص قد يتحسن مع العلاج.

الأعراض

تعتمد علامات وأعراض هذه الحالة بشكل عام على مكان حدوث هذا السرطان-

ورم الظهارة المتوسطة الجنبي: هذا النوع من ورم الظهارة المتوسطة يؤثر على الأنسجة المحيطة بالرئتين ، ويمكن أن يسبب علامات وأعراض مختلفة مثل:

  • ألم صدر
  • ضيق في التنفس
  • سعال مؤلم
  • فقدان الوزن غير المبرر
  • كتل من الأنسجة تحت جلد صدرك

ورم الظهارة المتوسطة الصفاقي: يحدث هذا النوع من ورم الظهارة المتوسطة في أنسجة البطن ، ويمكن أن يؤدي إلى ظهور علامات وأعراض مثل:

  • وجع بطن
  • غثيان
  • انتفاخ البطن
  • فقدان الوزن غير المبرر

أشكال أخرى:
على الرغم من وجود أشكال أخرى من ورم الظهارة المتوسطة ، إلا أن العلامات والأعراض غير واضحة بشكل عام ، لأن هذه الأشكال من المرض نادرة بشكل عام.

الأسباب وعوامل الخطر

عامل الخطر الأكثر شيوعًا والأهم لورم الظهارة المتوسطة هو العمل مع الأسبستوس. الأسبستوس عبارة عن مجموعة من المعادن التي تحتوي على ألياف دقيقة دقيقة ، ومقاومة للحرارة والنار والمواد الكيميائية ، ولا توصل الكهرباء. نظرًا لهذه الجودة ، يتم استخدامها على نطاق واسع في صناعة البناء والسيارات وغيرها من الصناعات.

في عملية تصنيع الأسبستوس ، يتم إطلاق الألياف في الهواء ، وقد يتم استنشاقها وابتلاعها ، مما قد يؤدي إلى مشاكل صحية خطيرة. ترتبط غالبية حالات ورم الظهارة المتوسطة بالتعرض للأسبستوس أثناء العمل. هناك أيضًا أدلة تشير إلى أن أفراد الأسرة وأي شخص يعيش مع عمال الأسبستوس لديهم أيضًا مخاطر متزايدة لتطوير هذه الحالة. ينتج هذا الخطر بشكل عام عن الغبار الذي ينتقل إلى المنزل على الملابس والشعر.

في بعض الحالات ، تم الإبلاغ أيضًا عن ورم الظهارة المتوسطة لدى أفراد ليس لديهم تعرض معروف للأسبستوس. تتضمن بعض الأسباب غير الشائعة ولكن المحتملة ما يلي:

الزيوليت- ترتبط هذه الأنواع من المعادن بالأسبستوس كيميائيًا. يُعتقد أيضًا أن التعرض للإريونايت ، وهو أحد المعادن الأخرى ذات الصلة ، مسؤول عن معدلات الإصابة بورم الظهارة المتوسطة في مناطق مثل تركيا ، حيث يوجد بشكل شائع.

الإشعاع – وفقًا لجمعية السرطان الأمريكية ، كانت هناك بعض التقارير المنشورة عن ورم الظهارة المتوسطة الذي تطور بعد التعرض لجرعات عالية من الإشعاع على البطن أو الصدر بعد حقن ثاني أكسيد الثوريوم أو شق الصدر. استخدم الأطباء هذه المادة في تصوير الصدر بالأشعة السينية في القرن العشرين.

علم الوراثة – وفقًا لبعض الخبراء ، فإن بعض الأشخاص لديهم استعداد وراثي للإصابة بورم الظهارة المتوسطة. يمكن أن تختلف معدلات المرض بين السكان.

فيروس SV40 – أثارت بعض الدراسات التي أجريت على حيوانات المختبر أيضًا احتمال أن الإصابة بفيروس القرد 40 يمكن أن تزيد من خطر الإصابة بورم المتوسطة.

التشخيص

إذا كنت تعاني من علامات وأعراض ورم الظهارة المتوسطة ، فسيقوم طبيبك بإجراء فحص بدني للتحقق من وجود أي كتل أو أي علامات غير عادية من هذا القبيل.

من المحتمل أن يطلب طبيبك فحوصات التصوير مثل تصوير الصدر بالأشعة السينية والتصوير المقطعي المحوسب لبطنك أو صدرك ، من أجل البحث عن أي تشوهات.

بناءً على النتائج ، قد تحتاج إلى الخضوع لمزيد من الاختبارات لتحديد ما إذا كان ورم الظهارة المتوسطة أو مرض آخر يؤدي إلى ظهور الأعراض.

تعتبر الخزعة ، وهي إجراء لإزالة جزء صغير من الأنسجة ، للفحص المعملي ، هي الطريقة الوحيدة لتحديد ما إذا كنت تعاني من ورم الظهارة المتوسطة. اعتمادًا على المنطقة المصابة من جسمك ، سيختار طبيبك إجراء الخزعة المناسب لك.

بمجرد تأكيد ورم الظهارة المتوسطة ، قد يحتاج طبيبك إلى التوصية باختبارات إضافية لفهم ما إذا كان السرطان قد انتشر إلى العقد الليمفاوية أو إلى أي مناطق أخرى في جسمك.

يمكن أن تشمل الاختبارات:

  • الأشعة المقطعية على صدرك وبطنك

  • التصوير المقطعي بالإصدار البوزيتروني (PET)
  • التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (مري)

سيحدد طبيبك الاختبارات المناسبة لك. ثم سيستخدم المعلومات من هذه الاختبارات لتعيين مرحلة للسرطان لديك ، والتي تتراوح من الأول إلى الرابع. كلما انخفض العدد ، زاد احتمال توطينه في المنطقة المحيطة بالرئتين ، وكلما زاد ، زاد احتمال انتشار السرطان إلى مناطق أخرى من الجسم. بمجرد أن يتمكن طبيبك من تحديد مرحلة السرطان ، فإنه سيختار العلاج المناسب لك.

علاج او معاملة

أثناء تحديد خيار العلاج لك ، يأخذ طبيبك في الاعتبار عدة عوامل مثل صحتك العامة ، أو المرحلة ، أو السرطان الذي تعاني منه بالإضافة إلى موقعه.

لسوء الحظ ، هذه الحالة عدوانية بشكل عام ، وبالنسبة لمعظم الناس ، العلاج غير ممكن. عادة ما يتم تشخيصه أيضًا في مرحلة متقدمة عندما يتعذر استئصال السرطان من خلال عملية جراحية. لذلك ، قد يعمل طبيبك على السيطرة عليها.

  • الجراحة- قد تنجح الجراحة أحيانًا في علاج السرطان. ومع ذلك ، في معظم الأوقات ، لا يمكن إزالة السرطان بالكامل. في مثل هذه الحالات ، يمكن أن تساعد الجراحة في تقليل العلامات والأعراض التي يسببها ورم الظهارة المتوسطة الذي ينتشر في جسمك. يمكن أن تكون الخيارات الجراحية من أنواع مختلفة.
  • العلاج الكيميائي – العلاج الكيميائي ينطوي على استخدام المواد الكيميائية لقتل الخلايا السرطانية. العلاج الكيميائي النظامي قادر على السفر في جميع أنحاء الجسم وقد يساعد في تقليص أو إبطاء نمو ورم الظهارة المتوسطة الذي لا يمكن إزالته من خلال الجراحة. يمكن أيضًا استخدام العلاج الكيميائي قبل الجراحة لتسهيل العملية أو في بعض الحالات ، بعد الجراحة ، لتقليل فرصة عودة السرطان.

يمكن أيضًا تسخين أدوية العلاج الكيميائي وإعطائها مباشرة في تجويف البطن ، في حالة ورم الظهارة المتوسطة الصفاقي.

  • العلاج الإشعاعي- يركز هذا النوع من العلاج على حزم عالية الطاقة من مصادر مثل البروتونات أو الأشعة السينية إلى بقعة أو بقع معينة على الجسم. يمكن أيضًا استخدام الإشعاع بعد الجراحة لقتل أي خلايا سرطانية متبقية. قد يساعد أيضًا في تقليل أعراض السرطان المتقدم ، في الحالات التي لا تكون فيها الجراحة خيارًا.
  • العلاج المناعي – العلاج المناعي هو شكل من أشكال العلاج الذي يستخدم جهازك المناعي لمحاربة السرطان. قد لا يهاجم جهاز المناعة في الجسم الذي يقاوم الأمراض أحيانًا السرطان ، حيث تنتج الخلايا السرطانية بروتينًا يمكن أن يعمى جهاز المناعة. ومع ذلك ، يمكن أن يتداخل العلاج المناعي مع هذه العملية. يستخدم هذا الخيار بشكل عام عندما لا تعمل طرق العلاج الأخرى.
  • العلاج الموجه – العلاج الموجه يستخدم العقاقير التي تهاجم نقاط ضعف محددة في الخلايا السرطانية.

المضاعفات

مع استمرار انتشار ورم الظهارة المتوسطة الجنبي في الصدر ، يمكن أن يضغط على الهياكل في تلك المنطقة ، مما يؤدي إلى مضاعفات مثل صعوبة التنفس والبلع ، وآلام الصدر ، والألم الناجم عن الضغط على الأعصاب والحبل الشوكي ، وتراكم السوائل في الصدر ، والتي يمكن أن تضغط على الرئة المجاورة وتجعل التنفس أكثر صعوبة.

الوقاية

من أجل منع هذه الحالة ، من المهم تقليل تعرضك للأسبستوس. يشمل العمال الذين قد يواجهون ألياف الأسبستوس:

  • عمال مناجم الأسبستوس
  • سباكين
  • الأنابيب
  • اختصاصي بالكهرباء
  • عوازل
  • عمال الهدم
  • أفراد عسكريون مختارون
  • عمال بناء السفن
  • معاد تشكيل المنزل
  • ميكانيكا الفرامل

إذا كان لديك أي مما سبق ، فمن المهم أن تسأل صاحب العمل عما إذا كنت معرضًا لخطر التعرض للأسبستوس في العمل.

تذكر اتباع جميع احتياطات السلامة في مكان عملك ، بما في ذلك ارتداء معدات الحماية. من الأفضل أيضًا الاستحمام وتغيير ملابس العمل قبل أخذ استراحة الغداء أو العودة إلى المنزل. يمكنك التحدث مع طبيبك لتسأل عما إذا كنت بحاجة إلى اتخاذ أي احتياطات أخرى.

شارك هذا حتى يستفيد الآخرون!

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on telegram
Telegram
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on vk
VK
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

اتصل بنا

شكرا لك!

أهلا!
شكرا على اتصالك! سنعود إليك في أقرب وقت ممكن.
للاستجابة بشكل أسرع ، يمكنك أيضًا الدردشة معنا باستخدام زر الدردشة WhatsApp أسفل الصفحة.
الاتصال عن طريق برقية

Mesothelioma

This post is also available in: العربية

Mesothelioma

Mesothelioma is a type of aggressive and deadly cancer. It occurs in the thin layer of tissue that covers the majority of your internal organs, also termed as the mesothelium.

Although treatment options are available for this condition, for many patients suffering from Mesothelioma, a cure is not possible. The average life expectancy for a patient after diagnosis is 12-21 months, though prognosis might improve with treatment.

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of this condition generally depend on where this cancer occurs-

Pleural Mesothelioma: This type of Mesothelioma affects the tissue surrounding the lungs, and can cause various signs and symptoms such as:

  • Chest pain
  • Shortness of breath
  • Painful coughing
  • Unexplained weight loss
  • Lumps of tissue under your chest skin

Peritoneal Mesothelioma: This type of Mesothelioma occurs in tissue in the abdomen, and can lead to signs and symptoms such as:

  • Abdominal pain
  • Nausea
  • Abdominal swelling
  • Unexplained weight loss

Other forms:
Although other forms of Mesothelioma also exist, but signs and symptoms are generally unclear, since these forms of the disease are generally rare.

Causes & risk factors

The most common and main risk factor for mesothelioma is working with asbestos. Asbestos is a group of minerals containing thin microscopic fibers, which are resistant to heat, fire as well as chemicals, and do not conduct electricity. Due to this quality, they are generally used widely in the construction, automotive, and other industries.

In the manufacturing process for asbestos, the fibers are released into the air, and they might be inhaled and swallowed, which can lead to serious health problems. The majority of mesothelioma cases are linked with exposure to asbestos during work. There is also evidence to suggest that family members and anyone living with asbestos workers also have an increased risk of developing this condition. This risk is generally the result of the dust brought home on the clothing and hair.

In some cases, Mesothelioma has also been reported in individuals with no known exposure to asbestos. Some of the uncommon but possible causes include:

Zeolites- These types of minerals are related to asbestos chemically. Exposure to erionite, another one of these related minerals, is also believed to be responsible for high rates of mesothelioma rates in areas such as Turkey, where it is commonly found.

Radiation- According to The American Cancer Society, there have been a few published reports of Mesothelioma that developed after exposure to high doses of radiation to the abdomen or chest after injections of thorium dioxide or thorotrast. This material was used by doctors in chest X-rays in the 20th century.

Genetics- According to some experts, certain people are also genetically predisposed to mesothelioma. Rates of the disease can vary among populations.

SV40 virus- Some studies in laboratory animals have also raised the possibility that infection with the simian virus 40 can increase the risk of developing mesothelioma.

Diagnosis

If you are having signs and symptoms of mesothelioma, then your doctor will be conducting a physical exam in order to check for any lumps or any such unusual signs.

Your doctor will likely order imaging scans such as a chest X-ray and a computerized tomography scan of your abdomen or chest, in order to look for abnormalities.

Based on the findings, you might need to undergo further testing in order to determine whether mesothelioma or another disease is leading to the symptoms.

Biopsy, a procedure for removing a small portion of tissue, for laboratory examination, is the only way for determining whether you are having mesothelioma. Depending on the area of your body that is affected, your doctor will select the right biopsy procedure for you.

Once your mesothelioma has been confirmed, your doctor might need to recommend additional tests in order to understand whether cancer has spread to lymph nodes or to any other areas in your body.

Tests can include:

  • CT scans of your chest and abdomen
  • Positron emission tomography (PET)
  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)

 

Your doctor is going to determine which tests are appropriate for you. Then he/she is going to use the information from these tests to assign a stage to your cancer, which ranges from I to IV. The lower the number, the more it is likely to be localized to the area around the lungs, and the higher it is, the more likely it is that the cancer has spread to other areas of your body. Once your doctor is able to identify the cancer stage, he/she is going to select the treatments that are right for you.

Treatment

While deciding the treatment option for you, your doctor considers several factors such as your overall health, the stage, or your cancer as well as its location.

Unfortunately, this condition is generally aggressive, and for most people, a cure isn’t possible. It is also usually diagnosed at an advanced stage when removing the cancer is not possible, through an operation. Therefore, your doctor might work to control it.

  • Surgery- Surgery might sometimes be successful in curing cancer. However, most of the time, it is not possible to remove all of the cancer. In such cases, surgery can help to reduce the signs and symptoms caused by mesothelioma which is spreading in your body. Surgical options can be of various types.
  • Chemotherapy- Chemotherapy involves using chemicals to kill cancer cells. Systemic chemotherapy is able to travel throughout the body and might help to shrink or slow the growth of a mesothelioma that is not removable through surgery. Chemotherapy can sometimes also be used before surgery to make the operation easier or in some cases, after surgery, for reducing the chance that cancer will return.

Chemotherapy drugs can also be heated and be directly administered into the abdominal cavity, in the case of peritoneal mesothelioma.

  • Radiation therapy- This form of treatment focuses high-energy beams from sources such as protons or X-rays to a specific spot or spots on the body. Radiation can also be used after surgery for killing any remaining cancer cells. It might help in reducing symptoms of advanced cancer as well, in situations where surgery is not an option.
  • Immunotherapy – Immunotherapy is a form of treatment that makes the use of your immune system to fight cancer. Your body’s disease-fighting immune system might sometimes not attack your cancer, as the cancer cells produce a protein that can blind the immune system. However, immunotherapy can interfere with this process. This option is generally used when other treatment methods are not working.
  • Targeted Therapy- Targeted therapy makes the use of drugs that attack specific vulnerabilities in cancer cells.

Complications

As your pleural mesothelioma continues to spread in the chest, it can put pressure on the structures in that area, leading to complications such as difficulty in breathing and swallowing, chest pain, pain caused by pressure on the nerves and spinal cord, and accumulation of fluid in the chest, which can compress the lung nearby and make breathing even more difficult.

Prevention

In order to prevent this condition, it is important to reduce your exposure to asbestos. Workers who might encounter asbestos fibers include:

  • Asbestos miners
  • Plumbers
  • Pipefitters
  • Electricians
  • Insulators
  • Demolition workers
  • Selected military personnel
  • Shipyard workers
  • Home remodelers
  • Brake mechanics

 

If you are any of the above, then it is important to ask your employer, whether you have a risk of asbestos exposure on the job.

Remember to follow all safety precautions in your workplace, which includes wearing protective equipment. It is also best if you shower and change out of your work clothes before you are taking a lunch break or going home. You can talk to your doctor to ask if you need to take any further precautions.

Contact us

Blog Posts...

Never ignore these signs of Breast Cancer
September 16, 2020

Never ignore these signs of Breast Cancer

In our daily life, we notice many changes in our body. Out of them, some changes that seem normal...
Common Breast Cancer myths
September 11, 2020

Common Breast Cancer myths

Nowadays, there is a lot of information available about breast cancer. However, not all of it is clear or...
best healthcare startup
March 14, 2020

Ginger Healthcare- Best Healthcare Startup

Ginger Healthcare ranked among top 10 Healthcare Startups in Delhi NCR by Silicon India Ginger Healthcare is pleased to...